I was about 13 years old when it happened. I remember it very clearly. I think people we’re only talking about that. I remember also that aside from the scientific point of view, some people where talking about the wrath of god, doom’s day and the end of the world as debris could shatter the earth. Ok… But it was exiting.

Halley’s Comet shows up  once every 75-76 years. I love those rare occurrences, not just because it gives us something to talk about with other people (strangers) but you know “You were here!”

So, I was there when the Halley’s Comet made it trough our sky in 1986. Well many of us.

I am happy that I could “see” it (actually I didn’t see it with my eyes) because the next time, in 2061, I will only be around 88 years old. I might see it twice! (Yeah! I know. I think I’m eternal… so far with pride with my own importance 😉 )

Why do I talk about this. I love astronomy and I am fascinated by the fact that we can see things that are so far away from us. It is humbling to see the vastness of the universe. I don’t feel small. I just feel less pride with my own importance. The beauty of the universe is transcending.

Of course, if I am impressed by all this, you might think that I would add a bit of it in my writings. Yes! You’re right! In my novel Mysterious ways there is a comet. She comes back every 7 years and intensifies every emotions people might feel. It’s also the occasion of a seven days feast offered by the Lord of the Land. The comet is also the symbol of the Great Goddess worshiped by people.

Really the Halley’s Comet really made such an impression…

With great respect!

A.

Image :

Drawing of Halley’s Comet, 1836, by astronomer John Herschel. Gouache on black fabric mounted on paper.

4 thoughts on “C is for The Comet

  1. I remember learning about Halley’s Comet when I was kid and realizing I might be alive to see it. I did, though I was a wee bit disappointed, thinking it would make a display like I’d seen in pictures. It’s very unlikely I’ll be around for it’s next pass by earth.

    Like

    1. It’s like shooting star… you think there will be like 500 a minute… not. If I’m still there, It will be a good thing if I just remember my name 😉

      Like

You are welcome to leave a Reply